Email home: June 26, 2013

Hey guys, whats going on?!?!?!?! I’ve been sending letters home so hopefully you get them.
This week has been way crazy.  The minute i got here i was pulled out of the car and given my missionary tags and then thrown into Spanish class.  The teacher spoke nothing but Spanish.  By Friday i knew how to greet people, teach the first lesson from preach my gospel, and testify of its truth.  I for some reason don’t find that it is enough.  The real crazy thing is, we have been teaching investigators since Friday!! Our lesson yesterday went great. My Companions name is Elder Danielsen-Jensen, from Brisbane Australia. He is really cool, and he seems to be alot like me.  I have the coolest district in the world.  Elders Pedersen, Cline, Brown and Ringwood.  All of them are from Utah except Elder Brown, he is from Gilbert! I was real happy i could talk to someone from around the same area.  We also have 4 Hermanas in our district, they are really cool too.  Their names are, Hermanas Gardener, Millet, Redford, and Alley.
So for those of you that don’t know how the MTC works, your language class is your district.  Then your neighboring districts compose a zone.  There are now 5 districts in our zone as of today with a new incoming district all headed to Mexico City.  I have some of the coolest teachers, and I’ve met some of the coolest people around here.  I and 4899 other missionaries were fortunate enough to attend the world wide broadcast last Sunday, and last night i was able to go to an awesome devotional.  Janice Kapp Perry and her husband spoke, for those of you that don’t know who she is, she is the lady that wrote tons of primary songs and the song, “As sisters in Zion, and To bring the world its truth”. She recently made changes to it and we were the firsts to hear it.  She started to lead us and without asking every single person in the Marriott center stood up and sang along.  I have never before felt something so powerful in my entire life.  The song is now called “As sisters in Zion, and Helemans Army”.
The food here at the MTC is actually pretty good most days, but with over 120 new mission presidents receiving training here at the MTC, we have been having food in the gym which hasn’t been all that great.  Today, we got to go to the Provo Temple for our first and last time since it is closing Saturday to be renovated.  I am going to try and find Elder McCourt today seeing as he is supposed to be arriving here around 4.  Seeing a familiar face would be nice.  Time in the MTC is all messed up, days feel like weeks, and weeks feel like days.  I still don’t feel like I’ve been out for a week now, it feels like i got dropped off 2 days ago.
Take care up my puppy please.
I Love you Guys, Elder Kelley.
Leave a Reply

