Email from Ryan 8-12-2013

This week was absolutely amazing.  We met an investigator for lunch.  But like everyone else in town, he didn’t want to progress whatsoever.  Which unfortunately is not surprising.  Tons of our appointments cancelled on us.  The best part of the week was when we were at church.  So we show up at church and right away our ward mission leader came up to us and told us he would start scheduling meals for us with members.  Which is awesome, because for the past 2 weeks we have not had any meals with a member.  So that was cool. The Elders from Cheney called us and told us one of their investigators was moving into our ward and said he would be there.  He showed up 10 minutes early so that was cool.  He stayed for like 15 minutes into sacrament meeting and then he just got up and left.  We haven’t talked to him since.  So hopefully he will answer us back.  Anyway, on to the good stuff.  The members that are the coolest are the ones that either live, or work on the AFB.  They for some reason are so much nicer than the locals that live and farm here. So this Sister was giving her talk and right after, the second counselor stands and says we are going to here from Sister Gonzalez now, she would have had more time if the other Sister would have shut up! I mean, I understand comedy, but that was just rude.  But they were both laughing at it.  Apparently that is just how he is.  Or so I’m told.  Anyway, good stuff now, haha sorry.  So we had an awesome class with Bro. Liechty, he is our ward missionary leader.  He is so cool.  He teaches very well too.  The awesome thing was that a recent convert in our ward brought his girlfriend who wasn’t a member.  She seemed to be really interested in learning more.  Then after church, one of our other investigators comes up to us and says, Hey I’ve been meaning to talk to someone about getting baptized, cause I want to do that, but I don’t know who to ask.  AHHHH, we were so stoked! We told him that we would meet with him Thursday and set up a date.  He and his dad are going to be baptized soon hopefully.  But his dad actually has to come to church first.  But yeah, that was my week.  Lots and lots of cancelled appointments and one or two awesome points.  Unfortunately that is just how Medical Lake is going to be. But I’m loving it. Mom,  I would send you pictures of my apartment, but I don’t want you to worry about me.  haha, so I won’t.  But yes, we do have a fridge and a microwave.  Our first fridge wouldn’t work so the manager finally replaced it sometime last week.  Our toilet seat broke yesterday.  I lifted the lid up and it snapped in half.  I can’t tell you how hard Elder Ebmeyer and I laughed about it.  I wouldn’t be surprised if the whole apartment just started to break.  Hahahahah, yeah.  It’s a good thing we spend most of our time out and about. In response to our questions:  Our ward is the Medical Lake Ward and there are about 150 active members who come on a regular basis.  There are supposed to be 400 in the ward but many don’t come. We can drive 40 miles a day and 1200 for the month.  We try and save as much as we can though.  The church building is about 9 miles away, it’s pretty far and way off the highway.  I don’t get a Bank card because I’m not an English speaking missionary, so all the money I get from the mission is put onto my companions bank card and I just withdraw all of it ($80 every 2 weeks) and then write  down that I got it.   I hear from Elder DJ, who is down in Argentina and Elder Pedersen who is in Australia.   I hear from them each week.  I haven’t heard from any of the sisters in my MTC group though.  I just want to hear when everyone gets their visas. I love you all, Elder Kelley Dear

Dear
broken toilet seat

broken toilet seat

The Air Force Base

The Air Force Base

Air Force Base

Air Force Base

Pictures from home

Pictures from home

The Hallet House, Medicine Lake

The Hallet House, Medical Lake

Leave a Reply

