Email from Ryan 9-4-2013

Sept 4, 2013

This week has been pretty awesome.  So Monday, after I emailed home, we went golfing at the course that is right next to our church building.  It was so much fun.  And totally worth how much it cost.  We were able to borrow some really nice clubs from the Wolf’s.  Then Tuesday we had our lesson with Trevor.  We helped him think of who to invite to his baptism, and who was doing what that upcoming Friday.  On Wednesday, We went to district meeting and that was really good.  Then we went on exchanges………. I don’t really like Davenport all that much.  But yeah, I went out to Davenport.  We got a ride to Rearden, and as soon as we got there we got out and went to visit people, and tract all around Reardon.  Or as other people in Medical lake call it, rear end.  Hahaha, it is so tiny.  Anyway, we didn’t talk to anybody there.  We had a couple doors slammed on us.  And me being stupid thought that we would be driving everywhere, so I didn’t bring a water bottle so I was dying.  After walking around Rearden for a few hours we went to Davenport, then once we got to Davenport we did the same thing.  With the same result.  No one wanted to talk to us.  Oh well.  We spent about 4 hours walking around there.  Then we had subway which was well needed.  Then we went home and slept.  Which is exactly what I wanted to do.

On Thursday, we exchanged back.  And I’ve got to say, I’ve never felt so good about going back to Medical Lake.  I really did miss the people there, even if it was just for 24 hours.  But still, I missed talking to funny people out there.  Then our lesson we had planned for that night cancelled on us.  But for this investigator it isn’t weird, she has cancelled our lessons like 9 times now.  haha, but when we actually do meet and teach her, she really does like it.  And she says she wants to come to church, but she just can’t because of work.  So we will keep on trying to set up lessons with her.  Friday was Trevor’s Baptism which was just awesome.  I’d post pictures but I don’t have my card reader, so those will have to wait for a little while.  Then Saturday, we had a really weird lesson at the library with someone that believed in co-exist, and witchcraft.  I don’t think we will be meeting with her again for a while.  hahaha, anyways, then we had dinner at the Wolfs which is always going to be fun.  And I’m not sure if I’ve said this before but they are from South Carolina.  And Saturday Night, the Clemson vs. Georgia game was on.  Hahaha, they told us to come over for dinner.  And Bro.Wolf said,  “The game is on, so the TV has to stay on.”  Hahahahahahaha, I love their family.  We did watch parts of the game.  They aren’t Clemson fans though, so they were going for Georgia.  It was just so funny, they were really getting into the game.  I think I was laughing most of the time.  The whole family was like screaming at the TV.  I love southern families.

Sunday was pretty cool.  Trevor was confirmed and his dad was there too.  And like normal we had dinner at the Williams house.  haha, they are so nice to us.  We had Bratwurst and some kind of chicken stuff.  It was super good.  Then Monday, we went golfing with Bro.Wolf, and his son Gabe, Bro.Williams, and Bro.Casperson.  It was so much fun.  We actually did all 18 holes too.  We had a blast.  I didn’t do too bad either.  So that was good.  Then we had dinner at the Petersons.  They are so funny, their kids are crazy.  We had pulled pork, and it was really good.  Then Tuesday, we went to the Temple which is always good.  This is by far the smallest temple I’ve seen.  Then we went to visit people that Elder Ebmeyer and Elder Marsh knew really well while they served in the valley.  Then we had dinner at one of the members houses there.  We had tacos which I was super happy to have.  Sadly that is the first Spanish food I’ve had.  And that was pretty much how my week was.  We have another Baptism coming up this next Saturday, so let’s hope I stay in this area.  Transfer calls come in this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

