Email from Ryan 10-28-2013 First week in Argentina

So this past week has been pretty crazy!  So Monday, we played ping pong and hung out at the McElligott’s, I gave them one of my cards so they could stay in contact.  I really liked going to their house, without a doubt I would feel happy after going there.  Then Tuesday we picked up Elder Burke’s new comp, elder Lindsey.  Then we went to the mission office so I could turn in my fingerprints.  I love going to the mission office.  We made one last visit to the McElligott’s and the Davis family.  They are just awesome, all of them.  Then Wednesday I got a ride from a member to the mission home.  That night, we stayed in a member’s house that was close to the temple.  Their house was huge!!!  Like crazy huge.  They were super nice as well.  Then president Mullen came with us to the airport, he is such a nice person.  (The 3 Assistants also came to the airport and President Mullen paid for the luggage for the 4 missionaries traveling together to Argentina)   I’m really going to miss that mission.  All of Thursday was spent flying, a 14 hour trip in all.  So the flight from Dallas to BA is 10 hours!  No fun.  Oh well.  On Friday we got the airport at about 8:00 and it took like 2 hours to get through customs.  President and sister Carter met us at the airport, they are super nice.  Haha, President Carter seems like he is just so much fun.  They gave us a tour of the city from the bus, then we went to the temple, then a garden.  It was awesome.  We had dinner at the mission home, their house is really nice.  Then Saturday I got to go with zone leaders back to their area, the funny thing is Elder Cline, the one that was in my MTC district, was companions with one of the zone leaders little brothers in Spokane!!  How crazy is that!?!  Anyway, then we worked in their area for 2 days.  It’s hard work here.  No cars, and in their area no bus no train no nada!  Then we had sacrament meeting.  I had such a hard time trying to understand them, Id catch a few words but not much. They talk so fast… Anyway, then today we were paired with companions.  Elder Gonzolez is my new companion.  He is from northern Buenos Aires.  He doesn’t speak English!  These next few weeks are going to be tough.  But I have hope since I can speak a little Spanish.  Un pocita. Anyway, this place is awesome and crazy at the same time.  I don’t know whether to be scared, excited, exhausted or all of them at the same time.  Castellano is such a cool dialect, their Spanish sounds awesome.  Think of saying shoot, then just use the sh sound.  And use that whenever there is a y, double ll.  It’s just awesome.  Like the word help is ayuda, but in castellano it sounds like ashuda.  hahah, I love it and hate it at the same time.  I’m gonna send some pictures so keep a look out.  I haven’t been able to take any pictures here, it’s too risky to take my camera with me all the time.  Love you all.

 

Leave a Reply

